UAF Alumni Association Board of Directors Spring Meeting Minutes Saturday, April 24, 2021 9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Join Zoom Meeting:

https://zoom.us/j/97556731637?pwd=N2tFR2xHTEh2T05YR0FpWGtIY3k5UT09

Saturday, April 24

[Executive Committee member Libby Eddy filling in for Secretary Mary Beth Loewen]

9:30 a.m. I. Call to Order and Roll Call - Cindy Wright 9:37am

Cindy Wright (President, Seat 9-FNSB)present
Tom Brice (Vice-President, Seat 7-Southeast) present
Marybeth Loewen (Secretary, Seat 2-Southcentral) present
Forrest Kuiper (Treasurer, Seat 3-FNSB) present
Rachel Panamarioff (Seat 1-Rural) absent
Shannon McCarthy (Seat 4-Southcentral) present
Stacey Howdeshell (Seat 5-FNSB) present
Amanda Wall (Seat 6-At-Large) absent St-

Dene people. We acknowledge and honor the ancestral & present land stewardship and place-based knowledge of the peoples of these territories.

V. Annual Meeting of Members

Per bylaws, gavel into annual meeting of members, see if anyone wishes to speak, then gavel back out and into regular meeting.

Gaveled in by Cindy at 9:41am. No members present to speak. Gaveled out at 9:42.

VI. Introduce & Welcome New and Returning Board Members

OLD BUSINESS

10:00 a.m. VII. Report from UAF leadership

A. UAF Chancellor -- Dan White short video message

10:20 a.m. VIII. Standing Reports/Committees

- A. Executive Committee / President's report -- Cindy Wright
- B. Executive Director report -- Theresa Bakker document attached
- C. Chapter Reports

Fairbanks- Ron Wall-*no report at this time* Southcentral – Shannon McCarthy-*hope to be more*

- F. Legislative -- Tom Brice
- G. Awards -- Libby Eddy we recognized Kyle Hopkins as distinguished Alum and Russ Knapp for the Cashen Service award at the Annual Blue and Gold event in February.
- Finance -- Forrest Kuiper
 UA Banking and Drawdowns audit report
 MOTION "The Board approves the following response."

Moved by Tom B., seconded by Shannon Mc. Motion passes

The board approves the following response to the UA Banking and Drawdown Report, that UAFAA is pursuing an annual external audit of its financial and chapter accountances pur chap G.

12:30 p.m. XI. New/Returning Board Members Seated

Seat 4B: Meredith Cameron, Anchorage, Seat 5B: Meadow Bailey, Fairbanks, Seat 6B: Darryl Lewis Sr., at large seat Seat 7B: Tom Brice- returning, SE, 3 years

12:45 p.m. XII. Disclosures of conflicts of interest – full board

Cindy Wright, no conflicts. Potential for conflict with children applying for scholarships in the future. Has a small advertising company but is not hired by UAF.

Libby Eddy, no conflicts

Meredith Cameron, potential for conflict with discretionary funding of CFOS.

Partner is a lobbyist in Juneau. He does not have university direct clients, however.

Forrest Kuiper, works at UAF in the Fire Department. Wife also works at the UA Scholars program at UAF. Is vice-president of UAF firefighters union, so has some advocacy work associated with it.

Daryl Lewis, no conflicts.

Thomas Farrugia, no conflicts. Does work with joint proposals and sub-awards from AOOS to UAF, but is not a direct financial decision maker.

Mary Beth Loewen, no conflicts.

Meadow Bailey, no conflicts. Works at GVEA, which has lobbyist activities in Juneau, Brother and mother-in-law work at UAF, husband is on Chancellor advisory board. Tom Brice, no conflicts. Has a small consulting business which has had contracts with labor unions.

XIII. Board Officer Elections

- A. President: Tom nominated Cindy, seconded by Mary Beth Motion passes favorably
- B. Vice President: Forrest nominates Tom Brice, seconded by Libby
 Motion passes favorably
- C. Secretary: Tom nominated Mary Beth, seconded by Thomas
 Motion passes favorably
- D. Treasurer: Tom nominates Thomas Farrugia, seconded by Forrest
 Motion passes favorably

XIV. Committee officers/chairs

<u>Legislative Committee Chair:</u> Tom Brice. Members: Meredith Cameron, Forrest Kuiper, Stacey Howdeshell; Daryl and Theresa will come up with a NW AK committee member <u>Finance Committee</u>: Thomas Farrugia automatically committee chair. New members automatically on the committee (Daryl, Meadow, Meredith). Community members: Shannon McCarthy, Jason Goatee, Wayne Donaldson, Jeremy Vermilyea. Libby Eddy on committee, interested in being part of the Benefactor Fund duties of this committee.

<u>Governance</u>: Meredith chairs. all new members automatically on the committee (Daryl, Meadow, Meredith), Thomas, Donald Crocker, Mary Beth Loewen

<u>Awards</u>: Libby chair, Forrest, Meadow, Anne Ringstad, Daryl Lewis, George Cromer III <u>Scholarship</u>: Mary Beth chair, Gabby, Tom, Cindy, George, Ron Wall, Jessica F., Stacey Howdeshell

5th person on Exec Committee: Libby Eddy

MOTION: "The board approves the following committee members."

Motion by Tom, 2nd by Thomas.